Partner • Prevent • Advocate • Survive JOIN NOW

UCAN Leadership Nominees

Nominee for Chair-Elect:

Dr. Craig Nichols (Intermountain Healthcare)

Dr. Craig Nichols recently joined Intermountain Healthcare to direct the Precision Genomics Cancer Research Clinic. Dr. Nichols did his medical oncology training at Indiana University and remained on the faculty there for 15 years with clinical specialization in testicular cancer and lymphoma. He then was recruited back to his native state Oregon where he was the division chief of hematology/oncology at OHSU and vice chair of the NCI-designated OHSU Cancer Center (now the Knight Cancer Center). Subsequently, he has experience in community-based institutions and was the PI for the Providence NCCCP application and currently the PI of the Cancer Care Delivery Research component of the NW NCORP (CCDR component now resides at Intermountain Healthcare). He serves as the executive officer for SWOG with responsibilities for digital engagement, member engagement, adolescent and young adult oncology and NCORP affairs. He was recently elected to the ASCO board and is a member of the ASCO executive committee and serves as ASCO’s treasurer.


Nominee for Director-at-Large:

Dr. Mark Hiatt (Regence BlueCross BlueShield of Utah)

Dr. Mark Hiatt serves as Executive Medical Director for Regence BlueCross BlueShield of Utah. Prior to joining Regence, Dr. Hiatt was chief medical officer for a major medical benefits management company, and department leader and board member for a large regional health system. He completed a fellowship in cardiovascular imaging at Stanford University, residency in radiology and master’s in Health Evaluation Sciences from the University of Virginia, and MD and MBA with academic distinction from Wake Forest University. Dr. Hiatt serves on the boards of RadSite, the Utah chapter of the American Red Cross, and the College of Science & Health of Utah Valley University; and was appointed by the Governor of Utah to serve on that state’s Medical Education Council and Digital Health Service Commission.